The Geeks are out in town again–thanks to a fabulous invitation!

October has been a busy and complicated month… what with hubby being convalescing and work, not a lot of time was free for blogging and also for getting together with my fantastic friends, Blythe and Rose and our other fellow Geeks! Total Food Geeks Edinburgh had a memorable open night on 16 October: I could not go, but by all accounts it was great fun. Marie and Susan at Hula Juice Bar were their usual lovely hostesses, so I was pleased to hear accounts of the night on our communal blog!
http://totalfoodgeeks.wordpress.com/
This week, it felt just about time for another get together… Hubby is well now and back at work, so on Wednesday night I left work and wandered toward the West End: Total Food Geeks along with other fellow bloggers, such as Keep Calm and Fanny On, Edinblogger and Zurika, were invited to taste the new menu at One Square! Yes, you heard me right–the newly re-opened (after extensive renovations) restaurant at the Sheraton on Festival Square. We were greeted by Emma and Andrew, the latter being the General manager of the hotel, for a glass of sloe gin and then we proceeded to the breakfast bar area, which was especially open for us, for a session of canape’ making, followed by drinks–gin and tonic this time, and lovely it was even for someone like me who is not madly in love with the stuff! It was here that we met our magician for the night–Craig, thje head chef guided us in making our own canapes. http://t.co/aM0wIKxfvA
Even a vegan like me got into it–next time my folks are around, I shall surprise them with some sushi! I was also surprised to find vegan canapes… avocado salad and gaszpacho, wow! http://t.co/h0eBlfu3Lh
We then moved to the dining table and that is where the magic really happened! I can only speak for the vegan options… but they were marvellous, made expressly for me–for which I am truly grateful, I am seldom so well-fed and treated so kindly! A starter of beetroot terrine (http://t.co/Qpp704BYJk) was followed by pumpkin soup topped with leeks (here you are: http://t.co/BYgAfs9bYa). The terrine was accompanied by beet crisps and salad, and was really tasty. The soup was delicate and hearty and the leeks gave it a nice punch. The main courses followed… chickpea burger with curly fries (here you go: https://twitter.com/AriAround/status/527570028078850049/photo/1) and also a tempeh burger, which was amazing, served with spinach and vegetables (see here: https://twitter.com/AriAround/status/527578244229644289/photo/1). Vraig came often outside to ask what we thought and was also happy to answer questions. I found it interesting that he does not use gram flour as a densing agent for the burger, and instead prefer grated broccoli. The taste was delicious, so I shall try! 🙂
Puddings were also good… berry jelly and sorbet (https://twitter.com/AriAround/status/527570028078850049/photo/1) was followed by almond pannacotta on fruit soup… unfortunately I ate this before tacking a picture, sorry! 😉
Drinks were paired artfully to the meal… I especially enjoyed the cider (Thistly) which matched well the starter.
In all, I left One Square with a happy heart: this visit confirmed that there are some amazing chefs around who can feed vegans really well, with art and also kindness. It is truly encouraging–now I know that next time I visit this restaurant, which is going to be soon, I can only ask when I am booking.
Truly good things are going on in Festival Square! Thanks Craig, Emma and Andrew and all the staff for welcoming us Geeks and especially this vegan. And vegans in Edinburgh–for a tasty meal in truly elegant surrondings I recommend One Square. Together with Cafe St Honore’s wonderful Neil, Craig is bound to become a favourite of the vegan tribes if I have any part in it!

Leave a Reply

